FREE Personal Injury Claims Quiz

Take My Free Quiz Now!
(719) 757-1182

Penalties for DUI’s Colorado have gone up

December 9, 2016 – admin – Drunk Driving

Criminal Defense Lawyer in Colorado Springs | Call 719-757-1182

Drivers who get pulled over and accused of drunk driving will now face the threat of stiffer penalties and costs than the did previously. According to certain estimates, those who are convicted of DUI in Colorado now face combined costs of approximately $13,530, which represents a 32 percent increase from figures from 2008 when average costs were about $10,270.

Part of the reason for the cost increase is that someone pulled over with a blood-alcohol content of 0.15 or more is now considered as a “persistent drunk driver” by the state of Colorado, and that means stiffer penalties. This si the result of a law update in 2014 that lowered the mark for persistent drunk drivers from the previous number of 0.17.

When a driver is convicted as a persistent drunk driver, or PDD, an ignition interlock device is required for 24 months, and they are required to attend a treatment class for nine months. The convicted driver has to pay for these services out of his or her own pocket and that means higher costs. The other components of DUI costs relate to various fees and expenses related to jail, detox, court expenses, probation fees and the cost of getting one’s license reinstated.

Due to the tremendous costs associated with a DUI conviction, and the social, career and other consequences of such a conviction, drivers accused of DUI may want to try and fight the charges in court. A criminal defense lawyer who had handled many DUI cases can be very helpful in guiding those accused of DUI during their criminal defense proceedings.

Source:, “Cost of getting a DUI in Colorado increased,” Erica Tinsley, Dec. 08, 2016

Related Blog Posts

Personal Injury Lawyer in Colorado Springs | Call 719-757-1182

Our Location

Pease Enter Your Name and Number For Callback

Request A Call Back