FREE Personal Injury Claims Quiz

Take My Free Quiz Now!

Underage DUI

Underage DUI Defense Attorneys

Young people make mistakes, and underage drinking and driving certainly qualifies as one of them. But because this mistake involves the law, its effects can be felt by the young person for many years, hurting everything from educational opportunities to employment prospects. That is why it is so important for drivers under 21 to work with a skilled lawyer to fight the DUI charges.

David W. Foley, founder of The Foley Law Firm in Colorado Springs, has more than 15 years of experience as an attorney in the criminal system. Mr. Foley was a prosecutor earlier in his career, handling many DUI cases in that role. Now, as a defense attorney, he uses his insights to help people fight charges of DUI, DWAI, underage DUI and other alcohol offenses.

Whether you are a parent whose child is in trouble, or you are a young person under 21 who is accused of drunk driving, you can reach out to David W. Foley for the advice you need. Call (719) 757-1182 today for a consultation.

Colorado Springs Underage DUI Lawyer | Call 719-757-1182

Understanding Underage Drinking And Driving Offenses (UDD) “Baby DUI” In Colorado

A driver under the age of 21 can be charged with a UDD (also known as “baby DUI”) if his or her blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of arrest is higher than .02 but less than .05. If the BAC is .05 or higher, then the underage driver faces all of the penalties associated with a typical adult DUI.

  • First conviction with BAC between .02 and .49: Penalties include three-month driver’s license suspension, fines of up to $100 and a sentence of community service.
  • First conviction with BAC of .05 or more: Penalties include five days to one year in jail, fines of up to $1,000 and a driver’s license suspension of nine months.
  • Second UDD with BAC between .02 and .49: Penalties include up to 90 days in jail, fines of up to $300, six-month driver’s license suspension and community service.
  • Second UDD with BAC of .05 or more: Penalties include 10 days to one year in jail, fines of up to $1,500, a one-year driver’s license suspension and community service.

The costs of underage DUI go beyond these penalties. A conviction can make it harder to get into college and harder to get the job the young person really wants. It can be harder to find housing with a conviction on one’s record. Colorado Springs lawyer David Foley believes strongly that young people should not be haunted for life by mistakes made in youth. That is why he is proud to help young people fight these charges and achieve positive outcomes.

Under 21 And Charged With Drunk Driving? Call David Foley Today.

If you are a parent whose child has been arrested for DUI, or if you are a young person facing this issue, call The Foley Law Firm in Colorado Springs for a consultation. You can reach attorney Foley at (719) 757-1182 or click here to email us.

Get Legal Help Today

Contact our Colorado Springs Underage DUI Lawyers.

(719) 757-1182

Contact Us

Fill out the form below or feel free to call us at (719) 757-1182

Contact Form

Why Choose The Foley Law Firm?

We can put your life back together. Unlike other law firms, we remain accessible to answer your questions and help you navigate important decisions from the moment you contact us until your case is resolved.

  • Founded by David W. Foley, who, as a former prosecutor, designed the training program for the prosecutors at the 4th Judicial District Attorney’s Office
  • Community-minded legal advocacy in Colorado Springs and the Pikes Peak area
  • Consistent communication to coordinate your defense strategy
  • Personalized, committed service and respectful, neighborly treatment
  • Experienced guidance and strategic direction — bringing you peace of mind
  • Free consultations for criminal defense cases

We’re One of You; We’re Here To Help

Personal Injury Lawyer in Colorado Springs | Call 719-757-1182

Our Location

Pease Enter Your Name and Number For Callback

Request A Call Back