FREE Personal Injury Claims Quiz

Take My Free Quiz Now!
(719) 757-1182


August 19, 2017 – admin – Drunk Driving

Criminal Defense Lawyer in Colorado Springs | Call 719-757-1182

Colorado ranks 18th in terms of the states with the most stringent drunk driving laws. If you’re curious to know just how tough our state’s laws happen to be regarding DUI convictions and punishments, take a look at the following punishments:

  • First conviction: A five-day minimum jail sentence.
  • Second conviction: A ten-day minimum jail sentence.
  • A standard DUI charge does not reach felony level until after an accused person’s fourth DUI offense in his or her lifetime.
  • A DUI conviction could potentially affect you over the course of your entire life.
  • First time offenders will have an administrative license suspension for nine months to one year; repeat offenders will experience a longer license suspension period.
  • Vehicle impoundment is not mandatory; however, arresting officers have the power to impound when they feel it is warranted.
  • Ignition interlock is mandatory after the first conviction or after an arrest for refusing a breath test.
  • The mandatory period for an ignition interlock device is eight months.
  • Drivers will be subjected to elevated punishments and penalties if they blow above a .15 percentage blood alcohol content and if they refuse to blow.
  • Those convicted of DUI must endure a mandatory alcohol assessment.
  • The minimum fine for a first and second offense conviction is $600.
  • Authorities may not carry out a chemical test without a warrant or consent from the driver.
  • Roadside sobriety tests are voluntary.
  • After a drunk driving conviction, car insurance rates will increase by 34 percent.
  • Colorado has child endangerment protections related to DUI.
  • Colorado implements sobriety checkpoints.

As you can see, Colorado takes drunk driving seriously. If you’re accused of this crime, you could face numerous and difficult legal consequences. Therefore, you may want to speak with a criminal defense lawyer to identify appropriate strategies you can employ during your criminal proceedings.

Source: Westword, “How Harsh Are Colorado’s DUI Penalties?: The 20 Toughest States,” Michael Roberts, accessed Aug. 18, 2017

Related Blog Posts

Criminal Defense Lawyer in Colorado Springs | Call 719-757-1182

Consequences of a DUI

What is so bad about having a DUI or DWAI conviction on your driving record? Aside from the fines and penalties, and even possible jail time you may have to…

Criminal Defense Lawyer in Colorado Springs | Call 719-757-1182

When Can – And Can’t – You Challenge Breathalyzer Results? 

You may be aware that the results of Breathalyzer tests can be used as evidence in a drunk driving case. However, you may have also heard that many thousands of…

Criminal Defense Lawyer in Colorado Springs | Call 719-757-1182

What Can You Do About A False DUI Arrest?

Just because you are arrested for DUI does not mean you are guilty. In fact, there are times when a person is falsely arrested. While some people fight to clear…

Criminal Defense Lawyer in Colorado Springs | Call 719-757-1182

Colorado School Bus Driver Accused Of Drunk Driving

On Sept. 21, a school bus driver was driving a high school football team consisting of 37 students and 4 coaches to an area high school after a game. The…

Personal Injury Lawyer in Colorado Springs | Call 719-757-1182

Our Location

Pease Enter Your Name and Number For Callback

Request A Call Back