FREE Personal Injury Claims Quiz

Take My Free Quiz Now!

UNDERAGE DRINKING AND DRIVING CAN HAVE SERIOUS CONSEQUENCES

December 7, 2016 – David W. Foley – Drunk Driving

Criminal Defense Lawyer in Colorado Springs | Call 719-757-1182

No matter which state you are in, receiving a charge for underage drinking and driving is serious. In Colorado, those under 21 who get caught drinking and driving will be charged with Underage Drinking and Driving Offense.

This only applies if the person under the age of 21 has a blood alcohol concentration of .02 to .05. If the BAC is higher than .05 percent, then the underage person will face the same criminal and administrative penalties that an adult driver will face.

The possible penalties for a UDD charge vary depending on how many times the minor has been charged before. If it is your first offense, you will not face any time in jail. However, you will have to pay a fine of $15 to $100, and face up to 24 hours of community service.

For those who have a prior conviction for UDD, they face 10 to 90 days in jail, a fine of $150 to $300, and as many as 24 hours of community service. There are four outcomes of a UDD that can be possible:

— A conviction

— A deferred sentence or judgment (usually saved for someone who hasn’t been charged before)

— Being found not guilty

— A no contest plea (again, this is usually saved for those who haven’t been charged before)

An arrest for underage drunk driving can have a serious effect on a minor’s life. It is important that the parents and the minor pursue a strong defense against the charges. An attorney can help protect the minor’s rights and work to limit the penalties.

Source: noduicolorado.org, “What if I’m under 21?,” accessed Dec. 07, 2016

Related Blog Posts

Personal Injury Lawyer in Colorado Springs | Call 719-757-1182

Our Location

Pease Enter Your Name and Number For Callback

Request A Call Back